Dec 202017

The ICMSA today announced that Pat McCormack will succeed John Comer as President of the Association for an initial three-year period. At a National Council in Limerick, Mr. McCormack, a 40-year old dairy farmer from Tipperary who had served as Deputy President for the last six years and was a previous chair of the Dairy Committee, was unopposed. The position of Deputy President went to Cavan’s Lorcan McCabe and was also unopposed. Mr. McCabe had previously chaired the Farm Business Committee with Shane O’Loughlin of Wicklow being elected to that vacancy. Well known Sligo farmer, Des Morrison, of Enniscrone, was elected to chair the Livestock Committee, while Kilkenny’s Denis Drennan was elected to chair the Farm & Rural Affairs Committee.  

In his first public statement, Mr. McCormack paid tribute to his predecessor, John Comer, and said that while ICMSA will continue to work for and with any group or individual interested in highlighting rural issues, the organisation’s focus will always remain the income of its core family dairy farm membership and the milk price on which that income depends. He said that ICMSA refused to accept that the farmers who produced the milk on which a whole multi-billion euro dairy sector was built could be considered as some kind of afterthought at the mercy of either the processors or the retailers. The new President also identified Brexit, Mercosur, CAP and the Environment as issues that would dominate the opening period of his presidency. Mr. McCormack said that ICMSA would continue to work within its traditional of rational and positive solutions aimed at ensuring that the voice of Ireland’s dairy farmers was heard ‘Loud and Clear’ in the formation of policy for our farming and agri-food sectors.

Ends      20 December 2017.

Pat McCormack, 087-7608958

President, ICMSA.


Des Morrison, 087-2263331

Chairperson, ICMSA Livestock Committee