Gerald Quain ICMSA Photo: Kieran Clancy © 12/1/2016

Gerald Quain ICMSA, Chairperson of the Dairy Committee







Committee Brief

Dairy Committee: The Committee looks at the following issues:

Milk Price & related issues – The committee is constantly striving for a fair milk price that justifies world market returns to ensure that dairy farmers are rightly rewarded for their quality product. The committee also monitor's  milk and product prices worldwide in order to maximise milk price for our members when lobbying milk processors.  Please see the press part of the website to view the latest press releases from our Chairperson  Gerald Quain.

C.A.P. – The dairy committee  focuses much of it time into maximising returns for dairy farmers from the C.A.P deal. This involves formulating policy and lobbying the Minister of Agriculture to  guarantee the Single Farm Payment is paid to active farmers who are fully contributing to the economic recovery of Ireland and ensuring Ireland meets Food Wise 2025 targets.

Animal Disease

The dairy committee plays a positive role in the formulation of policy to make sure Ireland maintains its highest level of quality products by reducing and eradicating on farm diseases such as BVD and TB.

Development Grants.

With the latest CAP agreement, the dairy committee is looking for as much funding as possible to be directed into the dairy sector from Pillar II to make sure dairy farmers can compete into the future and maintain the highest quality milk produce which our consumers have enjoyed for many decades.


Gerald Quain, Creggane, Charleville, Co. Limerick.


Pat McCormack, President ICMSA, Lisheen Upper, Greenane, Tipperary.                 

Lorcan McCabe, Deputy President ICMSA, Edengully, Bailieboro, Co. Cavan.         

Tim Fitzgerald, Green Road, Ballyroan, Portlaoise, Co. Laois.                                    

Sam Rose, Linnanagh, Gorey, Co. Wexford.     

Eamonn Carroll, Ballybrista, Loughmore, Co. Tipperary.                                          

Thomas Blackburn, Ballyshonakin, Effin, Kilmallock, Co. Limerick.                         

Seamus Troy, Ballinstick, Coalbrook, Thurles, Co. Tipperary.                                    

Gerard O’Reilly, Glaleck, Shercock, Co. Cavan.                                                          

Dominic Cronin, Derryleigh, Boherbue, Mallow, Co. Cork.                                         

John Daly, Lisrobin, Kiskeam, Mallow, Co. Cork.                                                         

Noel Murphy, Ballyvirrane House, Milltown, Co. Kerry.                                              

Noel Corcoran, Grange, Clareen, Birr, Co. Offaly.                                                       

Maurice Walsh, Carhue, Kilbehenny, Mitchelstown, Co. Cork.